Home » Family » The Proposal, Four Years Later

The Proposal, Four Years Later

A few Fridays ago I headed to my desk after a proposal meeting. I was beat. It was eleven and I was looking forward to lunch. I checked my e-mails  and wasted  a few more minutes and then my phone rang. It was the front desk, and I had a delivery, which was odd, usually they bring deliveries to our main floor. Nonetheless I made the long trek on the elevator, floor after floor, until I finally made it to the lobby.

When I made it downstairs, there were flowers, and a note from Jackson. He has spoken to my boss Carol. and I had the rest of the day off. I called him immediately, but he didn’t answer.  I left a voice-mail, and headed back upstairs to grab my purse. A few moments later Jackson sent me a text. There was a car downstairs waiting for me, and that he would see me later. After that he went completely silent.

The rest of my working hours were spent at a small bistro where I had lunch, and my favorite spa. He arranged everything, including my fave nail tech’s. 🙂 love that man. I had a facial, mani/pedi. When I was done at the spa, the car took me to fave South African place. I never ever get tired of it. When I walked through the door, I was stopped in my tracks. My parents, best girl friend, and my best guy friend that Jackson flew down here, along with his family, and my baby boy was standing on top of this wooden table with more flowers for me. That was when I knew what was about to happen, and that was when I started crying like a girl.

Jackson walked to me, wiped my tears, and had the nerve to use that voice when he told me to stop crying. I stopped instantly of course, but then wondered if anyone else noticed that voice. His tone softened, and was low where I was the only one that could hear him, “Your dad took some convincing, but he finally said yes. Your mom said yes before I could finish asking. That son of ours he was way too easy,” he said smiling. I looked at my son, and he was beaming. “Nicole can’t stop smiling, Mike will say yes after you do. My mother, is here, baby steps. My brother, helped me pick this out.”  That was when he got down on one knee and showed me my new shiny toy. “Be me wife?” he asked.

I nodded emphatically still choking back tears, before I could get out my yes. It was an amazing day, one I will never forget.

 

5 thoughts on “The Proposal, Four Years Later

  1. I am imagining right now “that voice” as well so I can stop crying happy tears.
    What a great proposal!
    Congratulations again.
    *big hug and a big kiss*

    • You are such a sweetheart. I was a little ticked, that he altered my moment. Then he said he did it because of all the pictures that would have shown running mascara, and that I would have complained about it forever. lol Clever man.

      Stop crying! and thank you again luv!

What is on your mind?

